Turkish Food Rant

Uncategorized

Lamb chops

Now when I am supposed to spread love for Turkish food disguised as recipes and excitement about eating it in the form of Istanbul restaurant recommendations I am here admitting the fact that may as well be suicidal for this blog. I AM FED UP WITH TURKISH FOOD. If this is the last post you going to read here before you flee hungry and disappointed - so be it, my Turkish food rant.

I am bored with the poverty of Turkish salad scene. Tremendously rich produce could inspire Turks to make as many as two salads - shepherd (çoban) and green. They both feature finest chopping that borders with mincing and signature seasonings - impossible quantities of lemon juice and - just to get it to the Turkish idea of perfection - fruit vinegar.

I am sick with spreading yoghurt with a bit of crashed garlic onto anything cooked. I am tired of converting every single vegetable and green into a zeytinyağlı, dish stewed in olive oil. Invariably with some tomatoes, garlic and onion. And invariably cooked with riviera, the lowest grade of olive oil available.

Please, don’t feed me more Turkish soups. Let us not pretend they are soups on the first place. Liquid bechamel sauce, sour dough, or thick fish stew turned into a soup meant to stuff you on the cheap.

And no! no! absolute no! to the Turkish sweets. I understand that long time ago some cook got so bewildered by the revelation of how hot dough can soak up indefinite quantities of sugar syrup and at once applied the principle to different kinds of dough to produce the classics - baklava, ekmek kadaif, tel kadaif, sekerpare, lokma, revani. Why not to simply drink the sugar syrup?

As you read this you may have many facts to confront me with. You may ask: what about world’ most exquisite flavors native to Turkey - pistachio, pomegranate molasses, charcoal grilled eggplant? Yes, they are enjoyed on special feasts but we don’t eat them every day.

What about ethnic eateries, you may inquire. Ethnic eateries are acceptable as long as they feature some version of Turkish food. Italian, Indian or Chinese becomes Turkish.

I consider myself a very accommodating person and have been fine with omni-Turkish food around me. But this is not the food I have been eating for the 29 years of my life on the regular basis.

I want my pasta with something besides butter, I want my Russian buckwheat porridge for breakfast, I want to bake things with real butter instead of margarine and vegetable oil. I want stinky French cheeses (and I beg you not to tell me French have stolen it from Turks). I want rich Middle Eastern bread spreads. I want Moroccan couscous. Indian curries. Salads so nutritious they can work as mains. Good chocolate.

A week ago when everyone was anticipating the lunch of chicken I put fresh pasta dough together. “Will it look really bad if I make a meal for myself only?” - I asked Özgür, my eternal advocate within the realm of my Turkish family. He looked surprised by my desperation, “It is perfectly fine” - he comforted me.

I sauteed serious quantity of onion and garlic in highest grade olive oil, then added zucchini and red bell pepper and as soon as they started browning I crowded the skillet with finely diced tomato. As the tomato was getting exhausted by the steaming I briefly boiled my fresh pasta. Drained it, threw into the sauce, added pungent eski kasar and freshly chopped basil. I stack a fork into the pan and fed a few bites to my passing by husband. His face took a very rare expression - he looked regretting having said no to my suggestion to double the portion. I picked a plate and got to my room..

I felt really bad. I have both cooked something nicer for myself and now was eating it alone.

When we eat at the countryside house in 90% cases I would have had more exquisite meals if I were to cook only for us two. But I see how living with 8 others you need to be more careful about the cost and more humble with the ingredients. This is why if I was to make this pasta for all of us there would be less sauce, more pasta and more down-to earth cheese.

Then it is not nice to eat something others around would not have. My mother-in-law scolded me harshly once when at a simple dinner for which we had a typical Turkish breakfast fare I asked Özgür whether he would like a boiled egg. “You must ask everybody!” - his mother told me. Unless you are sick or missed the normal meal hours because of your work duties you should join a meal and eat what everybody else is eating

Food is always shared in Turkey. With sojourner on a long bus ride, with a guest walking in as we are having our meal. And of course with your family. However little there is there to share. I witness over and over again how those dishes that could be enough for 3 people will not be finished by 10 of us as everyone will be reluctant to take the last bit. Because it is not polite. And because of this politeness with have a fridge full with tiny containers of “polite” leftovers which always end up in the dogs food so I started feeding those last bits off forcefully so we would not put a remaining spoon back to the fridge. There is politeness and there is common sense.

Guilty in not sharing my food that very evening I put together lasagna made from my fresh dough for everybody. It was a big hit. Yenge wondered, “Would you make it with feta next time?” and the grandma praised, “You made a very good börek!“.

What we eat is indeed conditioned by how we were socialized to eat and no one can’t be blamed for that. That’s why I some love börek and some have a soft spot for pasta. Sprinkled with pistachio. And no yogurt on top!

email

{ 6 comments… add one }

  • J August 15, 2012, 8:58 pm

    As an American cook, living in Turkey, I couldn’t agree with you more. I fantasize about French cheese and deplore the overcooking of veggies (soaked in oil). I find when I do make food for others in “my style” they don’t like it. It’s frustrating because I know it’s good! It’s just different from what they are accustomed to eating. The sickly sweet desserts… You nailed it on the soups too! I also get very frustrated at the lack of variety in fresh vegetables. I love Turkey and I love many things about my life here, but, too often I find myself thinking exactly what you have written today! I feel ya.

    Reply
  • Nom Nom Panda August 16, 2012, 2:52 pm

    Love all your posts, but this one particularly strikes a chord with me, because I also grew up with different food to what I am often eating now. Thanks for sharing your perspective and also introducing me to Turkish food culture. I am actually heading to Istanbul for a holiday in a few weeks, but the experience as a tourist is of course nothing like actually living there.

    Reply
  • Bahar August 17, 2012, 9:44 pm

    When I came to Canada I was still a teenager and since mom never tought me how to cook, I learned to cook in North America and cooked the North American recipes. Turkish recipes with their “little bit of this, little bit of that” seemed intimidating. I wanted exact measurements. Only yeeeeears later I started cooking Turkish when I discovered the food blog Almost Turkish. Everything was in North American units, hallelujah! And as I started cooking the recipes, I realised how much variety Turkish food has! I mean lack of fresh produce, come on, we are on the Med, we are lucky to grow all kinds of stuff. I challenge any American to find fresh barbunya beans or fresh fava beans. You have to go way waaaay out of your way. Or find dandelions please, people will laugh at you. I am always amazed on American health shows they talk about the benefits of olive oil as if it is a recent discovery. I lauvh out loud every time. But I gotta give it to you, we Turkish are food snobs. We do like making stuff more Turkish. I am guilty of doing this everytime my North American mother in law serves her steemed fresh green beans and I give her a forced “yummy” smile :)

    Reply
  • Mrs Ergül October 2, 2012, 12:28 pm

    The line, “and I beg you not to tell me French have stolen it from Turks” had been in stitches! Spot on!!!!!

    Reply
  • G December 21, 2012, 3:41 am

    I couldn’t understand why you have to use riviera, margarine or flower oil. Can’ t you buy them or find where you live? As a Turkish woman I use butter and extra virgin olive oil. I don’ agree with you I’m sorry. Also for the desserts. What about irmik helvasi, asure, gullac? They don’t have to be made that sweet. The name “deliciousistanbul” and this article really confused me. Is this a joke? Also you give one or two examples from other cuisines. French cheese, Italian pasta, Moroccan coucous, Indian curry. I’m sure there is at least one meal that you like from Turkish cuisine and that should be enough for your range of taste.

    Reply
  • C February 28, 2013, 6:48 pm

    I thought this was funny and so true - there is so much variety in cookbooks that specialize in the region, but when you are actually “on the ground”, Turkish food can be so monotonous. And cloying. I remember visiting my husband’s family and I found myself just dying for mustard. I had to have mustard. Something that was going to clean my palate (other than the ubiquitous lemon). I managed to find a very small jar at a grocery store and I remember eating it by the spoonful. Normally, I am not a big mustard eater, but I just needed something completely different from what I was eating morning noon and night. Three years later when I returned, my mother in law proudly presented me with the same bottle of mustard, which she had thoughtfully saved. Anyhow, I have a huge appreciation for books by Paula Wolfert and Yottam Ottolenghi and others that take the ingredients of the region and present different ways of using them. Although I can’t match the produce quality to Turkey’s where I live most of the year, I really enjoy trying out some of these recipes.

    Reply

Leave a Comment